What the…?

Last Sunday, I realized that I didn’t get my mail from Saturday so I went downstairs to get my mail from my mailbox. I only had two letters, one from a credit card company asking me to open a new account with them and one from the city of Los Angeles’s Finance Department. I wasn’t sure what it was and I had a feeling that it was important so I opened it right away.

When I saw what it was I had to sit down, gather my thoughts, and try to figure out what the hell I was going to do. The city sent me an estimated tax assessment and bill for $1659.80 for my personal business ownership of Julia Records and Judessa Music. I was lost and confused not knowing where I was going to get the money and where the city got this number from since I haven’t even broke the $200 barrier for cash brought in from my music this year. I read the entire bill and two things stood out: it was due no later than December 8 and, if I didn’t pay it in full, I could be charged with a misdemeanor. I couldn’t believe it! How was I going to get this money and why was I being charged an amount that was nearly $1700? I was furious as I am sure you can imagine.

I went to research the bill on the city’s website and was breaking down each section. Each made sense, except one: the Basis for Tax. In the box for my bill the number was 109,803. I had no idea what that stood for. I wasn’t sure if it was a reason code or a dollar amount. That was the one section/box that was not explained on their website. All the other sections were explained in full detail. I wasn’t sure what to do. I was ready to sell a guitar or two. I couldn’t sleep and was cursing the city and all its rules and greediness. I tried doing other tasks but my mind was focused on the letter. I couldn’t call or contact the city for it was Sunday and I would have to wait until 8am the next morning.

At 830am I called the Finance Department and spoke with a representative. I explained the situation and he told me that the city sent me the bill because when someone is running a business in the city of Los Angeles, you need to pay taxes for the amount the business made that year. I told him I wasn’t aware of that and then asked why am I being charged $1659.80? I explained that made less than $500 last year and that the amount was too much for me to handle. I asked him what the Basis for Tax box was? He looked it over (as he pulled out a copy from his computer) and told me that was the city’s estimate of my income for the year from my personal business. I laughed out loud and told him that I wish I had made that much last year. He told me because it was just an assessment of my income, all I had to do was bring in a copy of my 2007 tax forms and the bill would be adjusted properly. I asked him if he knew what the amount would be and he said it could be from $10 to $150. A wave of relief came over me and I thanked him. I would be happy paying $150 compared to $1700.

On Thursday I went to the Finance Department and showed them my 2007 tax forms. The receptionist looked it over and told me that I would have to pay the city a tax based on $6487 because that was my Gross Receipt total. She showed me the number from my tax return and began to process my bill. I told her that it wasn’t the right amount because I brought in less than $300. She began to get upset and rude with me and said that I was going to have to pay based on that number. I asked her to explain to me in more detail how she got the number. Her voice started to get louder as she was getting frustrated and she showed me a line on one of the forms I gave her an she said this is number from the schedule C, and that is what you will have to pay. I looked it over and told her that was the Schedule SE number not C; she looked it over, smiled and said, “Oh, I must be going blind, I was looking at the wrong line, you owe nothing.”

Of course I wanted to call her a stupid idiot, but I played it professionally so she can save face and told her, “Well the lines and numbers are so small, it is difficult to see. I am just happy we took care of this.” I thanked her told her to have a great weekend and left.

I was relieved that I owed nothing since I really didn’t make anything. It seemed to me that the city tries to take advantage of its business owners, especially in the Basis for Tax section. Why can’t they add a dollar sign to the number? Why isn’t it explained as all the other sections are? I have a feeling that many business owners see the bill and pay it because they don’t want to “fight city hall” or deal with the trouble from the less-than-adequate people working for the city (I know not every employee is inadequate but some just don’t believe they make mistakes). Where did the city get the idea that I brought in $109,803? Though I am not sure what is worse: the “estimated” bill from the city or the receptionist who was giving me a hard time because she thought she was right. How many people has she screwed over for not reading the tax forms right? Who audits them?

The frustration of this manifestation…

Leave a Reply

