Why Do You Listen To The Music That You Do?

I was recently asked this question: “Why do you listen to the music that you do?”

I thought, wow, what a great question, I never tried to explain it to anyone before.  My first answer was,”Well, I have always loved music, it was a way to escape and drift away.”

As I continued thinking about it, this was the best answer I could come up with at that moment, “I love listening to new music and discovering new bands/artists (especially being a songwriter, singer, and performer myself), but I find I always go back to my favorite music that I discovered in my high school (The Beatles my all time favorites and the Doors) and college years (The Verve, Radiohead, The Chemical Brothers, Primal Scream, Smashing Pumpkins, Spiritualized, Underworld, Sigur Ros etc…)

With the music that I listen to, there is this connection.  I would say that its definitely a spiritual connection.  Everthing in the songs, from the lyrics, guitars, emotion, vocals, rhythm, groove, ambiance, has connected with me in a way that I have related to the emotional message of the song; growing up, falling in love, trips, holidays, friends, family, broken hearts, long sleepless nights, flying high and fast come downs, raves, parties, lonliness, happiness, youthfulness, fantasies, dreams, lost loves, old friends that have turned into faces in the hall.  Also, I just love the fact that my favorite bands at one time made me wish that I was a member of the band and that I was performing their songs in front of millions of people and made me dance and sing like no one else was around. (How many of you sing and dance along to your favorite songs in front of the mirror?? – you can keep that to yourself if you like).  It’s the connection that has made me listen to the music that I do.

Though I am creating new amazing memories, I find my favorite music is timeless and the same songs from years ago are still creating the soundtrack to my life.

So now you tell me, Why do you listen to the music that you do?

Leave a Reply

