My Playlist for The Verve

In honor of Rolling Stone Magazine’s Playlist Issue, I have compiled together lists of my favorite bands and the go-to-songs I love.  Some are hits, album fillers, B-sides, and a few are live tracks.  This was difficult because I usually love the albums, but I decided the amount of songs will be a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 15 I can choose.

My first list is for my #2 favorite band of all time (my number 1 is The Beatles) – The Verve.  Songs are in no particular order:

The Verve

-The Rolling People
-Star Sail – one of Nick McCabe’s shining moments
-One Way To Go – B-Side to “All In The Mind,” one of my favorite riffs
-Judas
-Slide Away
-Make It Till Monday – this song makes you feel like your floating on water towards forever bliss
-Life’s An Ocean
-Stormy Clouds
-Bittersweet Symphony – yes, it’s been overplayed but the lyrics “you’re a slave to the money then you die,” can make you realize the exact life you are living….
-Rather Be
-Stamped – B-Side to “Sonnet,” a great modern day jam
-Weeping Willow – takes me back to the lost days of my youth
-All In The Mind – The Verve’s very first single, full of energy, reverbs and riffs

Next list will be for The Smashing Pumpkins.  Please share yours.

Shine On

Leave a Reply

