December 14, 2012

It’s such a difficult time that we live in. With so much going on, we as people now have to worry about active shooters and random acts of violence.

My God, elementary school children were shot dead in their classroom. I couldn’t help but think about my own son. How confused and scared he would be if he were involved with that type of situation. A situation I’m sure most children are not exposed to, I would guess most people aren’t exposed too either.  Then my thoughts went to the parents of the children, probably feeling helpless, hearing about the shooting, thoughts racing praying their children are all right. A complete feeling of helplessness running through their bones. What the fuck would I do? I couldn’t imagine, and I didn’t want to.

How does one prepare for this? How can anyone?

Is this just pure evil? Is this the act of someone who has completely lost his or her entire mind? Mental illness? We all try to find the reason why this happened, but what difference does this make? How is it going to stop the next incident from happening? What can we do as a society, a culture, from preventing these random acts of violence?

There is talk of more gun control and stricter laws, but I don’t see how that is going to stop someone from getting a gun if they really want it. We have strict laws on drunk driving, murder, and domestic violence, but these crimes are committed all the time.  (I’m an advocate of very strict gun laws; I don’t like guns as they are very dangerous, but I also know that just because a law is in place, does not mean that it will be a solution to the problem). Do we start to track individuals with history of mental illness? Can we train families who have family members with a history of mental illness the warning signs of possible violence?

I came home and hugged and kissed my son a little more than I usually do. I was looking through his eyes with a little more innocence too.

My heart and sympathy goes out to all the families in Connecticut. I pray you make it through this and no one else will ever have go through that pain and anguish. 

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

