Happy New Year From Guilty Souls

I was thinking to myself that I haven’t had a Guilty Soul’s update in a long time and thought there would be no better time than now. 
 
I did not do much in terms of music progress this past year. I did write songs (not as many as I would have liked) but I was writing bits and pieces that I hope to finish sooner than later. 2013 is the one year that I did not play a live show at all. 
 
Since the last time we had communicated, I have been busy with work and spending time with my family. I also spent a lot of time reflecting on my life, digging deep into my soul. The past few months I have been able to open up about my past, my regrets, and my anger that has been living inside of me. 
 
I am an avid self-help and spiritual book reader, I have been for years, and they have all helped push me forward with small steps to improving my life. It’s been hard, but once I started opening up, so much heaviness has been released from inside. I’m starting to be able to accept who I am, and see that what we want, we have to be able to give first.
 
I want to share with you three things that have resonated with me and has made a huge effect in my life this past year.
 
1. Gratitude – we all have something we can be thankful for. Waking up to see a new day is a blessing within itself. Everything we have is all we need to be fulfilled. I’ve learned to be thankful for my life and all that has led me to this point, but I continue to strive to be a better person for me and my family in all aspects of my life. Be happy and thankful, but challenge yourself to be better.
 
2. We Are Warriors – Nothing comes easy. We need to be ready to fight and push through for anything that we want to succeed in.  We all have dreams and desires, but how much work and time are we willing to put in to be fulfilled? The Universe and God will test all of us to see how much fight we have to reach our destination. Discipline, focus and intensity, looking at the challenge straight in the eye and giving your all can and will show us what we are capable of. 
 
3. Our Creations Are Gifts – I believe we are all creators. When you are creating have you ever wondered where the melody of your song came from? How it just appeared out of nowhere and came to you? Or when writing your book, blog, essay, story, how things just came and flowed right through you? Maybe we need to stop judging what we are creating and go with the flow. Finish it and move on and continue our creative process. Will everything we create be a masterpiece? Nope, but that’s ok, keep moving forward and learning, maybe that’s what these gifts are for. 
 
I could go deeper into what these qualities mean to me, but that’s for another time.
 
I really wanted to reach out to you to share what I have been up to. There is a lot more (iPhone Photographysongwriting, diet), but I don’t want to bombard you with to much information.
 
I hope things are great for you and here’s to a prosperous 2014!
 
Shine On,
 

 

Leave a Reply

