Motivation of Why

I enjoy listening to podcasts as much as I enjoy reading books. I was listening to a podcast today where Simon Sinek was being interviewed and he made a comment about listening that stuck in my mind:

“Listening is understanding the motivation of why it was said in the first place.”

That got me thinking that the “motivation of why” doesn’t just pertain to listening, its connected to everything we do.

Sometimes I only see and hear what’s on the surface when interacting with people, but maybe if I do my best to understand why someone does this or why someone says that, maybe I can understand them better. I’ll probably understand myself better too. Then I can find a way to relate to them and feel a connection.

Sometimes all people want and need is to feel that connection.

What is the motivation behind the why for your life? What is the why that motivates you to write a book or a song? Why do you enjoy painting pictures, designing clothes, taking photos, directing a film? What is the deep feeling you get when you are doing the things that you love and make you who you are? When was the last time you thought about it?

I’d love to hear back from you.

Keep fighting the good fight and shine on.

Leave a Reply

